Shearing Sports Logo Shearing Sports New Zealand IncEldersPrimary Wool Cooperative Ltd
FULL MENU MastersJudgesWorld ChampsTeamsCompetition DatesRulesMedia ReleasesContact

December 31, 2015

Sir David Fagan, one of shearing's most honoured dozen
Shearing Sports New Zealand chairman Sir David Fagan is one of people understood to have been recognised in New Zealand's New Year or Queen's Birthday Honours for services including involvement in the shearing industrry and its sports.
The first is thought to have been Godfrey Bowen (OBE 1960), who with brother Ivan Bowen developed the famed Bowen shearing technique.
Godfrey Bowen was third in the inaugural Golden Shears Open final in 1961, won by Ivan Bowen who was awarded the MNZM in 2007 for services which included development of award-winning Rotorua tourism attraction the Agrodome.
Ivan Bowen is one of seven Golden Shears champions to be recognised in the honours over the years, the others being fellow Open champions Brian 'Snow' Quinn (MBE 1981), John Fagan (MBE 1992), Sir David Fagan (MNZM 1999, ONZM 2007, KNZM 2017), and Colin King (MNZM 2000), Open woolhandling champion Mavis Mullins (MNZM 2002), and 1965 Intermediate shearing champion Hugh McCarroll (MNZM 2013).
Mrs Mullins is one of three Golden Shears presidents to have been recognised, the others being Bob Chamberlain (MBE 1965) and Laurie Keats (MNZM 2009), and other recipients have been former long-serving Golden Shears secretary Colin Gilmour-Wilson (QSO 1995), and shearing instructor Allan Reid (QSM 2010)


Contact Us


David Fagan
PO Box 91
Te Kuiti 3941
Phone: 027 498 9899

Lara Russell
57 Lane Street
Ashburton 7700
Phone: 021 260 3365
Publicity Officer/Media

Doug Laing
Phone: 027 469-0644
Fax: 06 843-6656


Northern RepWarren Parker103 Parker Access Rd, RD1, Raglan07 981-1175
Western RepPaul GraingerTroupers Road, RD 1, Te Kuiti 398107 878-6458
Eastern RepBill Gaskill140 Gaskill Rd East, RD1, Opotiki 319707 315-8116
Southern Rep Philip Morrison Boundary Road, Pahiatua 4910 06 376-8384
Shearers RepJohn Kirkpatrick34 Wharerangi Road, Tamatea, Napier 021 887 844
Woolhandling Rep Keryn Herbert342 Waimaiha Road, RD7, Te Kuiti 398707 878-4977
Region 1 David Baigent PO Box 25, Wakefield, via Nelson 705203 522 4380
Region 2 Tom Wilson15 Leslies Road, RD1, Rangiora 74710274 336 093
Region 3 Robert McLaren Isleworth Road, RD3, Ashburton03 303-7283
Region 4 Michael Hogan Mabel Bush, 2 RD, Invercargill 987203 230-4051
Shearers Rep Norm Harraway27 Hardys Road, Rakaia 7784027 241 3023
Woolhandling RepPaula Rentoul532 Tadmor Valley Road, RD2, Wakefield03 522-4171
Exec OfficerHugh McCarroll211 Given Ave, Whangamata 362007 865 8611


Meetings are held in each region annually to elect delegates to the South Island Annual Meeting. Each region has two competition delegates, plus one elected National delegate One machine and one blade shearers delegate and one woolhandling delegate from each region. Region delegates will elect the shearers rep and woolhandling rep to attend National meeting.

Chairman:Michael Hogan, Mabel Bush, No 2 RD, Invercargill 9872
Ph: 03 230-4051
Vice-chairman:    Tom Wilson, 5 Leslies Road, RD1 Tangiora 7471
Ph: 027 433-6093
Sec/Treas:Jude McNab, 464 Owaka Valley Road, RD2, Owaka 9586
Ph: 027 279-9446

Electronic Scoring Committee:
Chairman: Michael Hogan    03 230 4051
Secretary: Kelvyn Scott    03 312-5613
Operator: John Lawton    03 208-0352    027 223-0815


Each affiliated competition is entitled to two voting delegates to attend and vote at the NI annual meeting. Area delegates are then elected to form the North Island committee, from which six National delegates are elected. No proxy votes are allowed.

Chairman:Warren Parker, 103 Parker Access Road, RD1, Raglan
Ph: 07 825-5141
Vice-chairman:    Paul Grainger, 973 Troopers Road, RD1, Te Kuiti
Ph: 07 878-6458
Secretary:Caro Stokoe, 221 Autaura Road, RD1, Inglewood 4387
Ph: 06 756-5584

Electronic Scoring Committee:
Chairman: Warren Parker   07 825-5141
Secretary: Angela Kirkpatrick    021 113 6842
Operator: Lance Waddell    09 433-8743    027 490-5926

© Shearing Sports NZ 2015
Website by Dzina Ltd